3 Best Quick Service Restaurants at the Magic Kingdom

At Disney World, quick service restaurants are a great option for those looking for more flexibility with their dining.  You don’t need dining reservations, you don’t need to devote 90 minutes (or more) to eat, and these locations offer a great variety to please even the pickiest of eaters.  Luckily, the Magic Kingdom does not fall short with quick service dining options.  These are my top three based on menu, affordability (they’re so similar in price and portion size that it’s not really worth distinguishing that), environment, and kid friendliness.

Disney- Quick Service- Dining- Magic Kingdom

#3:  Pecos Bills

Pesos Bills makes me think of my grandma.  This was her all time favorite place to eat at Disney World.  Why?  She LOVED the fixins bar!  I feel that the menu has changed at some point, but I’ve always had fantastic food here.

Disney- Pecos Bills- Quick Service- Dining

Menu:  Like all of my top three, they do not serve your typical theme park foods.  My favorites here are the taco burger and the beef nachos.  The fixins bar makes it possible to customize your toppings.

Environment:  This is why it is #3.  There is ample seating here.  Even in June, I have been able to find a table at dinner time.  The downside is that it’s lacking theming  that impresses me.  There’s nothing wrong with it, it’s just blah.

Kid Friendliness:  Kids love the fixins bar!  Some of the entrees some with tortilla chips.  We load up on the guacamole from the fixins bar and my kids are in heaven.  Another perk, the restrooms here are quite large.

Why I love it:  I love coming to Pecos Bills for a later dinner, about an hour before the nighttime parade.  After ordering dinner, we find a place outside on either the curb in front of Pecos Bills or closer to the Country Bears and eat our dinner while staking out a place for the parade.  This part of the parade route is less crowded and by the time the parade ends here, you have the perfect amount of time to get to Main Street to watch Wishes.

 

#2:  Columbia Harbor House

Columbia Harbor House is a hidden gem in Liberty Square.  It’s location is PERFECT, super close to Fantasyland, the Hub, and Frontierland.  This has been a tried and true quick service stop for me since my days as a cast member.

Disney- Quick Service- Magic Kingdom- Columbia Harbor House- Dining

Menu:  The portions here are huge!  We split two entrees between the four of us and no one leaves hungry.  Our go-to item is the chicken nuggets and fish platter.  It comes with cole slaw plus you get to pick between corn, apples, or french fries.  We also like to get a side of broccoli.  Don’t forget that ice waters are FREE.

Environment:  One word… upstairs.  I never eat on the main level.  In fact, most people don’t even realize that there’s a second floor.  It’s must more quiet up there.  Typically, I send my husband and one child to order our food while I take the other two kids upstairs to find our table.  One of my ultimate secrets is the view from some of the tables on the second floor, especially if you have some Rapunzel fans like I do.

Disney- Columbia Harbor House- Quick Service- Magic Kingdom

Kid Friendliness:  I typically don’t write about kids meals because we don’t order them, but Columbia Harbor House does have one of the better selections at the Magic Kingdom.  Kids meals include chicken nuggets, chicken nuggets and fish, garden salad, and tuna sandwich.  My kids LOVE the view of Rapunzel’s tower!  Seriously, they could sit there all day looking out the window!

Why I love it!  I love the food here and I feel that most people overlook it.  It’s not in the heart of any super major attractions, but it still has a really convenient location.  It’s just next door to Peter Pan, close to the Haunted Mansion, and across the ‘street’ from the Liberty Belle.  It’s also conveniently located near the hub, fantasyland, and frontier land.  The upstairs section with view of Rapunzel’s tower is one of the most private quick locations.

 

#1:  Be Our Guest

Although Be Our Guest is my #1, I feel like it’s still quite trendy.  I’m typically not a fan of trendy things, but this place still calls my name.  It’s seriously one of the most unique dining locations at Disney.  It’s quick service for breakfast and lunch, table service for dinner.  For dinner, it features a character interaction (a rare chance to meet the Beast) and the only place to drink alcohol in the Magic Kingdom.  While breakfast and lunch is quick service, you can make advanced dining reservations, order in advance, and sit down in air conditioned luxury while eating with real silverware; a true rarity in the quick service world.

Disney- Dining- Quick Service- Be Our Guest- Magic Kingdom

Menu:  Before I even get to what I love on the menu, I want to point out that you need to make an ADR (advanced dining reservation) quite a bit in advance.  Just as importantly, you can order your meal a full thirty days in advance.  Definitely take advance of this!  I have only dined here for lunch.  We love it so much that we keep just coming for lunch.  Breakfast is a pre fixed price that I feel is close enough in price to the Crystal Palace that makes it not worth the money.  Back to lunch… I always order a croque monsieur.  Believe it or not, but I do consider myself to be a croque monsieur expert.  I’ve eaten these throughout France and love them.  They’re more than just a grilled ham and cheese.  During Lent, I order the vegetable quiche which is also pretty good.  I’ve dined with my parents who are major fans of the carved turkey sandwich and the quinoa salad.

Environment:  The setting here is world class.  The exterior sets the tone and does an excellent job of portraying the Beast’s castle.  Inside, you’ll find three distinct dining areas, the ballroom, library, and west wing.  Both times I have dined here I have eaten in the ballroom.  No matter which area you dine in, you’ll be fully immersed in the Beast’s Castle.

Kid Friendliness:  If your child loves Beauty and the Beast, they will LOVE Be Our Guest!  We stick the ballroom and I definitely want to forewarn you that the west wing is dark.

Why I love it:  I’m going to try not to ramble here.  There are many reasons why I love Be Our Guest.  I also want to preface that I’ve only had lunch here.  I love being able to make an ADR for a quick service dining location.  I’m a planner though.  For those who are not big into scheduling dining, this might not be the place for you.  I love being able to make a reservation for a quick service location, being able to order my food 30 days in advance, and still get to dine with real silverware.  Seating can be tight here.  I typically come for a super early lunch (like 10:30am) and the only dining room open is the ballroom.  We’ve been able to find seats, but it’s been more challenging than my other quick service picks.  Dining in air conditioning is fabulous too.  You’ll know what I mean after you vacation here in the summer.  One final quick tip, don’t order a drink.  I never ever order drinks, since ice water is FREE everywhere, but here they leave the cups out next to the self serve drink station.  No one will know if you take one.

 

Honorable Mention:  Tomorrowland Terrace Restaurant

This seasonal quick service location is also a great shortcut if you’re trying to get from Main Street to Tomorrowland (or vice versa).  I have memories of eating Asian cuisine here, but these days it serves a nice variety of entrees ranging from pulled pork to chicken strips.  It also boasts gorgeous views of Cinderella Castle.

 

Disney- Dining- Quick Service- Magic Kingdom

 

Leave a comment